November 30, 2007 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

Nov. 30, 2007, at 7 pm, Estonia Concert Hall

Šostakovitš – Symphony No 10 in E minor
Prokofjev – Suite from the music for the film Lieutenant Kijé

Raivo E. Tamm (narrator)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

When Nikolai Alexeev became the principal conductor of ERSO 6 years ago, he promised not to perform too much of Russian music, but he also added, “I am Russian and Russian music, of course, is very close to my heart, I know and understand it very well.” This time the principal conductor has compiled the concert program, consisting mostly of the Russian composers whose works provide a satirical undertone implying to two Russian rulers. Symphony No 10 by Dmitry Shostakovich was composed in 1953, right after Stalin´s death, and Sergey Prokofiev’s music for the film Lieutenant Kijé, which was ridiculing the bureaucracy of Paul I, the Emperor of Russia, was composed 20 years earlier.

Tickets: 180.-, 120.- (70.-)
Concert is produced by ERSO

Nikolai Alexeev

Tickets: 180.-, 120.- (70.-)
Concert is produced by ERSO