BALTIC SYMPHONY FESTIVAL. One concert, three orchestras

November 24, 2018 at 7 pm — The Great Guild, Riga

Kristaps Pētersons
“Music for a large symphony orchestra” (premiere)

Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis
“The Sea”

Michael Daugherty
“Time Machine”

Erkki-Sven Tüür
“Sow the Wind”

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Mihhail GERTS

Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Gintaras RINKEVIČIUS

Latvian National Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Andris POGA

One concert, one stage, three orchestras – Estonian National SO, Lithuanian National SO, and Latvian National SO. Čiurlionis’ magnificent seascape from Lithuania, Pētersons’ new composition of order and chaos from Latvia, and the combined efforts of all three orchestras and conductors in the performance of American composer Daugherty’s Time Machine that operates just like a time machine is wont to do – contemplating the past and surveying the future.

This concert is part of LV100 program.