Miroslav Kultyshev.

March 18, 2022 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

PIANO CONCERTO series is presented by Liviko

Sergei Rachmaninov
Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18     ~35′

Sergei Prokofjev
Symphony No. 5 in B-flat major, Op. 100     ~45′

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

Tickets 26 € / 19 €:  PILETILEVI     PILETIMAAILM

Nikolai Alexeev.

Former Chief Conductor of ERSO Nikolai Alexeev continues to introduce Russian music and great Russian performers. ‘I am very impressed by Alexeev’s dignified state that is free from external effects; in today’s show-oriented world, it is like reaching a refreshing oasis,’ wrote Kai Taal (Muusika, 12/2017).

The most powerful opus of Prokofiev’s oeuvre – Symphony No. 5 – will be performed. In the symphony completed in 1944, the composer said that he wanted to glorify a free and happy man, his great strength and chivalry. After the work was premiered in America in 1946, conductor Serge Koussevitzky called it the greatest musical experience in many years – the greatest work since Brahms and Tchaikovsky.

At the final concert of the ‘Piano Concerto’ series, Miroslav Kultyshev, laureate of numerous international competitions and the winner of the silver medal at the prestigious Tchaikovsky Competition in 2007, will be performing with ERSO. Kultyshev, who started performing at the age of six, made his debut four years later in the Great Hall of the Saint Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra, playing Piano Concerto No. 20 by Mozart, conducted by Yuri Temirkanov. He is a graduate of the Saint Petersburg Conservatory, performs at prestigious Russian and European music festivals, and, in addition to the best concert halls in Moscow and Saint Petersburg, has performed at the Wiener Musikverein, Salzburg Mozarteum, Lincoln Centre in New York, Tokyo Suntory Hall, the Royal Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Wigmore Hall in London, Brucknerhaus in Linz, Salle Gaveau in Paris, and more.

Concert is produced by ERSO.