October 5, 2006 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

05. October 19:00 – Estonia Concert Hall

Shostakovich – Cello Concerto No 2
Mozart – Symphony No 39 in E flat major K 543

David Geringas (cello, Germany)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

Cellist and conductor David Geringas was born in Lithuania and studied with Mstislav Rostropovitch at the Moscow Conservatoire. His international career began in 1975 in Germany that has remained his home till today. David Geringas was one of the first musicians who introduced contemporary Russian and Lithuanian music to Western Europe. Many composers, including Erkki-Sven Tüür and Lepo Sumera, have written music for him. David Geringas has appeared with ERSO several times, the last being in 2001 when he performed with Paavo Järvi the Cello Concerto by Lepo Sumera.
The programme consists of the music written by two great composers – Dmitri Shostakovitch and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – who are celebrating their anniversaries in 2006.

Tickets: 180.- / 120.- (70.-)
Concert is produced by ERSO

David Geringas

Tickets: 180.- / 120.- (70.-)
Concert is produced by ERSO