NARGENFESTIVAL. Arvo Pärt. Four symphonies

Arvo Pärt

September 9, 2011 at 7:30 pm — Noblessner Foundry


Arvo Pärt
Symphony No 1 Polyphonic
Symphony No 2
Symphony No 3
Symphony No 4 Los Angeles

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

For the first time in the world, all four Arvo Pärt’s symphonies will be performed at one concert. This will give a magnificent overview of the composer’s styles of creation. The First Symphony Polyphonic (1963) that Pärt dedicated to his teacher Heino Eller is a dodecaphonic composition that was completed as a graduation work of the conservatoire; the Second Symphony (1966) uses the technique of collage; the Third Symphony (1971), dedicated to Neeme Järvi was born of searches for a new musical language; and the Forth Symphony Los Angeles (2008), dedicated to Mikhail Khodorkovsky has been written in his famous tintinnabuli style.

More information: Nargenfestival’s web-site.
Klassikaraadio will transmit the concert to EBU member states as part of the à la carte Concert Series.

Concert is produced by Nargenfestival & ERSO.
Tickets: 15 € / 12 €.