ARVO PÄRT’S DAYS: Arvo Pärt’s birthday concert

Arvo Pärt. Photo Postimees/Scanpix

September 11, 2014 at 7 pm — St. John’s Church, Tallinn

Arvo Pärt (1935)
“Lamentate” for Piano and Orchestra (2002)
“Como cierva sedienta” for Soprano and Orchestra (1998/2002)

Patricia Rozario (soprano)
Marrit Gerretz-Traksmann (piano)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

Arvo Pärt’s birthday concert will include two monumental works for soloist and symphony orchestra – “Lamentate”, composed on commission for the Tate Modern in London, performed by soloist Marrit Gerretz-Traksmann, an honoured interpreter of Pärt’s music, and “Como cierva sedienta” (“As the Deer Longs”), performed by the English soprano of Indian origin Patricia Rozario, whose unique voice and artistry has inspired many composers.

The orchestra will be conducted by Tõnu Kaljuste, artistic director of the Nargenfestival.

Tickets: 20 € / 15 €
Concert is organized by Lootsi Koda & ENSO