Tracy Silverman.

September 24, 2021 at 8 pm — Estonia Concert Hall (pre-concert event)
September 24, 2021 at 9 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

AUDIO SPA series is presented by Radisson Collection

John Adams
“The Dharma at Big Sur”  for electric violin and orchestra     27′

John Luther Adams
“Become Ocean”     42′

TRACY SILVERMAN electric violin
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
Conductor OLARI ELTS

Tickets 26 € / 19 €:  PILETILEVI     PILETIMAAILM

The opening concert of the series, ‘Become Ocean’, will be combining the ocean theme into one whole as a metaphor. The music of two American composers, namesakes, and contemporaries will be heard. ‘The Dharma at Big Sur’ by John Adams (born in 1947), one of the most popular contemporary American composers, was written to celebrate the opening of the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles in 2003. Big Sur is a strip of the coast with wondrous and rough cliff walls between Santa Cruz and Santa Barbara. In the words of the composer himself, the piece is meant to express the moment, the so-called shock of recognition of reaching the edge of the land mass of the continent. The piece was created for the American violinist and composer Tracy Silverman, who is dedicated to redefining the violin in contemporary music and to developing the six-string electric violin.

The New Yorker has dubbed John Luther Adams (born in 1953) one of the most original musical thinkers of the new century. His music is inspired by nature, especially by the landscapes of his home of many years in Alaska. ERSO will be playing his piece ‘Become Ocean’, which won the Pulitzer prize for music in 2014.

Both works will be performed in Estonia for the first time.

Pre-concert at 8 p.m.
Sven Grünberg
“Observer” (“Vaatleja”) for string quartet and live-electronics
String Quartet Ardor

Steve Reich
“Music for Pieces of Wood”
ERSO percussionists

Concert is produced by ERSO.