March 20, 2020 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

Following the instructions of the Government of the Republic of Estonia, ENSO’s concerts until May 1st, 2020 are cancelled. Further information will be available shortly and will be published on the ENSO website.

3rd concert of the PIANO CONCERTO series

Edward Elgar
Overture In the South (Alassio)   22′

Camille Saint-Saëns
Piano Concerto No. 5   30′

Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 6   43′

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

Lucas Debargue (© Xiomara Bender).

The young French pianist Lucas Debargue first received major attention when he came fourth in the Tchaikovsky competition and won the music critics’ award in 2015. He has been compared to Glenn Gould and Van Cliburn and is a welcome guest in the world’s most prestigious concert halls.

Leon Botstein, the principal conductor of the American Symphony Orchestra and Orchestra Now, will conduct for ENSO for the first time. Botstein, who was born to a Polish Jewish family in Zurich and moved to America as a child, is largely influenced in his job as a conductor, music historian, and pedagogue by his thorough knowledge of history, as evidenced by a PhD from Harvard. He has been the principal conductor of the American Symphony Orchestra in New York since 1992. In 2003–11, he was the principal conductor of the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, which recently performed in Estonia. In 2015, he founded the innovative Orchestra Now, which aims to prepare the next generation of musicians who would break the barriers between the contemporary audience and grandiose orchestral music. In addition, he is the President of the New York Bard College, the founder and artistic director of the Bard Music Festival, and, for the second year, the artistic director of the Grafenegg Academy in Austria. He regularly conducts orchestras from all over the world, writes articles, edits the prestigious U.S. scholarly musical journal The Musical Quarterly, and his work has been recognised with numerous awards.

For the Estonian audience, he has put together a programme of the work of the most important representatives of the English, French, and Czech national schools. Leon Botstein: ‘All three composers of this concert – Elgar, Saint-Saëns, and Dvořák – represent the high point of musical romanticism: the independent adaptation outside of German-speaking Europe of the musical developments in composition represented by Brahms and Wagner. Each of these composers played a major role in the development of the musical culture and national identity of their people. Despite the rise of nationalism, all three maintained connections to the German-speaking cultural space. Their music found a warm reception with German-speaking critics and audiences despite the troubling emergence of an aggressive German cultural chauvinism.’

 TICKETS: €25/€18

PIANO CONCERTO concert series

I: CHOPIN & OHLSSON, December 6, 2019

II: LISZT & BERLIOZ,  January 10, 2020

III: BOTSTEIN & DVOŘÁK, February 28, 2020

IV: JÄRVI & SUMERA, May 8, 2020