Eri Klas. Foto Erkki Ruokonen.

Eri Klas. Foto Erkki Ruokonen.

January 20, 2012 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

2nd concert of the CONCERTO series

Mahler. Adagietto from the Symphony No 5 in C sharp minor
Brahms. Piano Concerto No 1 in D minor, Op 15
R. Strauss. Symphonic poem Heldenleben, Op 40

Dmitri Alexeev (piano)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
Conductor ERI KLAS

The meteoric flight of Dmitri Alexeev, one of the top pianists of the world, began in 1975 when he was the first musician from the Soviet Union to win the prestigious Leeds International Piano Competition. The pianist who has been living in London for a long time gives solo recitals on the most prominent concert stages and cooperates with the best orchestras of the world. He visited Estonia for the first time only five years ago when he participated in the international festival of pianists Piano 2006. With ERSO and Nikolai Alexeev he played Schumann’s Piano Concerto and Rakhmaninov’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini.

Eri Klas dedicates the concert to the 100th birth anniversary of his mother, pianist Anna Klas. As a performer, Anna Klas attracted greatest attention as an ensemblist – the piano duo Anna Klas and Bruno Lukk was among the most appreciated ones in the Soviet Union. She was also a recognized teacher who brought up a whole pleiad of Estonian pianists.

Single ticket: 15 € / 10 €

In its 85th anniversary season, ERSO brings to its listeners four exciting series of superb concerts:  JUBILATE, MASTERCLASS, SAGA and CONCERTO.
The concert is part of the CONCERTO series that enables listeners to enjoy brilliant soloists and attractive instrumental concertos. Five concerts of the CONCERTO series:
I: 14.10.2011  FROM THE NEW WORLD
II: 20.01.2012  DEDICATION
IV: 13.04.2012  PASSACAGLIA
V: 26.04.2012  PIANISSIMO

If you buy a ticket for all the concerts mentioned, you will win 30% of the price of single tickets.
Series tickets are sold until the first concert of each series. Tickets for the CONCERTO series are sold until 14 October 2011.
With a series ticket the price of one concert is 10,50 € / concessions for students and pensioners 7 €.
Five concerts of the CONCERTO series: 52,50 € / concessions for students and pensioners 35 €.