Auli Lonks.

April 27, 2018 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

2nd concert in the PIANO CONCERTO series

Joshua Micheal Tasker.
“Desolation” (premiere)

Maurice Ravel
Piano Concerto in G major

Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No 8 in G major, Op. 88

Symphony Orchestra of the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
Conductor PAUL MÄGI

The soloist at the traditional concert of ENSO and the EAMT Symphony Orchestra is the pianist Auli Lonks, winner of the 2017 competition of instrumental soloists at the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre. One of the milestones in her musical career was her dazzling performance during the first season of the popular TV competition, Classical Stars.

The opening piece of the concert will be confirmed during the academic year and it will be the premiere of a work composed by one of the current students of composition at the academy. Symphony No. 8 by the most important composer of the Czech school of national romanticism, Antonín Dvořák, will be performed in the latter half of the concert.

The performance will be conducted by the musical director and principal conductor of Vanemuine Theatre, Paul Mägi, who has previously worked for many years as the artistic director and principal conductor of the Estonian National Opera, and also as the principal conductor of the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra.

Tickets: 22 € / 16 €

Concert is produced by ENSO and EAMT

Presented by Liviko

For the first time, the ENSO concert series also include a special treat for all piano music lovers.

Denis Kozuhkhin, a pianist from Nizhny Novgorod, who has made his way up to the world’s most reputed concert halls, has won first prize at the Queen Elisabeth Competition among many other awards. He now works with the world’s top orchestras and conductors. In Tallinn he will perform Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3.

The young Estonian pianist, Auli Lonks, became known to Estonian audiences when participating in the first season of the TV show “Klassikatähed” (Classical Stars). She recently won first prize at a competition of instrumental soloists at the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre Symphony Orchestra. With ENSO and the EAMT Symphony Orchestra she will perform Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G major.

Born in Kharkiv and currently living in New York, Anna Shelest has been praised by the New York Times for her “fiery sensibility and warm touch” in piano playing, as well as for her excellent sense of partnership with an orchestra. In Tallinn she will perform Rubinstein’s Piano Concerto No. 3 with ENSO, conducted by Neeme Järvi.

The piano concerto with an intriguing title “Century Rolls” by the American composer John Adams embraces, according to the composer himself, the piano music of the entire previous century, while being mainly inspired by the sounds of the pianola, the self-playing piano that became popular at the beginning of the 20th century. The soloist, the Icelandic Víkingur Ólafsson is one of the most original younger generation pianists who represents a rare combination of passionate musicality, explosive virtuosity and intellectual curiosity.

Friday 27 April 2018 – DVOŘÁK AND RAVEL, conductor PAUL MÄGI
Friday 11.05.2018 – BEETHOVEN AND RUBINSTEIN, conductor NEEME JÄRVI
Friday 18 May 2018 – CENTURY ROLLS, Festival “Practical Spirituality”, conductor KRISTJAN JÄRVI

Series tickets for the “Piano Concerto” series: 55 € / 40 € (available until 18.10.2017)