FANTASTIC! Opening Concert of the Season

Neeme Järvi. Foto: Simon van Boxtel

Neeme Järvi ((© Simon van Boxtel).

September 6, 2012 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

1st concert of the PARIS SYMPHONIES series

Villem Kapp. Choral Poem Northern Coast
Franz Joseph Haydn. Symphony No 82 in C major, L’ours (The Bear)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Clarinet Concerto in A major, K 622
Hector Berlioz. Symphonie fantastique

GUY SPIELMAN (clarinet)
Estonian National Male Choir
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

The Paris Symphonies series, commissioned by a Parisian Masonic organisation and composed between 1785–86, features six of Haydn’s finest symphonies here performed by ERSO under the baton of its principal conductor Neeme Järvi. Symphony No 82, which will be performed at the opening concert and popularly known as the Bear Symphony, received its name 20 years after the composer’s death when its piano arrangement was given the title Danse de l’ours (“Dance of the Bear”).

Guy Spielman

Guy Spielman

Mozart’s only clarinet concerto, completed just a few months before the composer’s death, is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful and touching works in this genre. Young clarinettist, Guy Spielman, who became principal clarinet for ERSO this season, is the soloist. Spielman is a graduate of the Sydney Conservatoire and has recently completed postgraduate studies at the Musikhochschule Lübeck under world-famous soloists Reiner Wehle and Sabine Meyer. He has played with several Australian and European orchestras and performed both as a soloist and chamber musician.

To counterbalance the classical mood dominating the first part of the concert, the Symphonie fantastique composed by Berlioz in 1830 clearly announces the new Romantic era. The symphony, subtitled An Episode in the Life of an Artist, introduces passionate dreams of love, profound disappointment, a giddy waltz, opium induced delirium, murder, a march to the scaffold and a wild witches’ Sabbath.

Tickets: 20 € / concessions for students and pensioners 15 €.
Concert is produced by ERSO.

In its 86th season, ERSO brings to its listeners six concert series: PARIS SYMPHONIES, FESTIVO, CLASSICS, MASTERCLASS, 1001 NIGHTS ja MAESTRO.
The concert is part of the PARIS SYMPHONIES series:

If you buy a ticket for all the concerts mentioned, you will win 40% of the price of single tickets.
Tickets for the PARIS SYMPHONIES series are sold until 6 September 2012.
With a series ticket the price of one concert is 12 € / concessions for students and pensioners 9 €.
Six concerts of the PARIS SYMPHONIES series: 72 € / concessions for students and pensioners 54 €.