March 16, 2012 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

5th concert of the SAGA series

Pacius. Overture to the opera Hunt of King Charles
Shostakovich. Violin Concerto No 1
Stravinsky. Ballet L’oiseau de feu

Anna-Liisa Bezrodny (violin)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

 Anna-Liisa Bezrodny who began her violin studies at the age of two, supervised by her parents Professor Igor Bezrodny and Professor Mari Tampere-Bezrodny, has graduated from the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London (2006) and the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki (2008). She is the laureate of numerous international competitions and has received several awards, the most prestigious of which is the Gold Medal of the Guildhall School in London (2006). She is active as both a soloist and chamber musician, having performed in nearly all European countries, South and North America, the Middle and the Far East.

Next to Shostakovich’s 1st Violin Concerto with Anna-Liisa Bezrodny as a soloist, the programme includes significant pieces from the history of stage music. The concert begins with the overture to the first opera created in Finland, the Swedish-language Hunt of King Charles, which premièred in Helsinki in 1852, the composer being German-born Frederik Pacius. Pacius is best known as the composer of Estonian and Finnish national anthems, but he has also created vocal, stage and symphonic music.

The second half of the concert features the music of Firebird, the first ballet of the Russian composer Igor Stravinsky. Just this composition which premièred in Paris in 1910 with utmost success became Stravinski’s powerful breakthrough in the West.

The orchestra is conducted by Mikk Murdvee who, in addition to successful concerts with ERSO, has conducted Tallinn Chamber Orchestra, Pärnu City Orchestra and several Finnish orchestras. Since 2007 he has been the principal conductor of Helsinki University Symphony Orchestra.

Concert is produced by ERSO.
Single ticket: 15 € / 10 €.

In its 85th anniversary season, ERSO brings to its listeners four exciting series of superb concerts:  JUBILATE, MASTERCLASS, SAGA and CONCERTO.
The concert is part of the SAGA series that enables listeners to enjoy works with an exciting background and subject matter in a magnificent performance. Six concerts of the SAGA series:
I: 23. ja 24.09.2011  SAUL
II: 04.11.2011  PLANETS
III: 27.01.2012 NATURE, LIFE, LOVE
IV: 10.02.2012 IN SPE
V: 16.03.2012 FIREBIRD

If you buy a ticket for all the concerts mentioned, you will win 30% of the price of single tickets.
Series tickets are sold until the first concert of each series. Tickets for the SAGA series are sold until 23 September 2011.
With a series ticket the price of one concert is 10,50 € / concessions for students and pensioners 7 €.
Six concerts of the SAGA series: 63 € / concessions for students and pensioners 42 €.