October 14, 2011 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

1st concert of the CONCERTO series

Smetana. Symphonic Poem Moldau from Má  vlast
Martinů. Oboe Concerto
Dvořák. Symphony No 9 in E minor, Op 95 From the New World

Heli Ernits (oboe)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

Oboist Heli Ernits has completed her Master’s studies at the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre. She has won prizes at several competitions, including the first prize at the 4th international competition Jūrmala 2008 and the Second Prize at the Estonian Competition for Wind Instruments (2008). Last year, at the Estonian young musicians’ competition Con brio she won a prize from ERSO, which gave her an opportunity to step up as a soloist with her current home orchestra.  She will perform the Oboe Concerto by Bohuslav Martinů, one of the author’s best-known and most frequently played works. The piece will delight the adorers of impressionism, neo-classicism and jazz.

The concert devoted to Czech music begins with Smetana’s famous Moldau from My Fatherland and culminates with Dvořák’s most famous, 9th symphony From the New World that was written during the composer’s American period.

Concert is produced by ERSO.
Single ticket: 15 € / 10 €.

In its 85th anniversary season, ERSO brings to its listeners four exciting series of superb concerts:  JUBILATE, MASTERCLASS, SAGA and CONCERTO.
The concert is part of the CONCERTO series that enables listeners to enjoy brilliant soloists and attractive instrumental concertos. Five concerts of the CONCERTO series:
I: 14.10.2011  FROM THE NEW WORLD
II: 20.01.2012  DEDICATION
IV: 13.04.2012  PASSACAGLIA
V: 26.04.2012  PIANISSIMO

If you buy a ticket for all the concerts mentioned, you will win 30% of the price of single tickets.
Series tickets are sold until the first concert of each series. Tickets for the CONCERTO series are sold until 14 October 2011.
With a series ticket the price of one concert is 10,50 € / concessions for students and pensioners 7 €.
Five concerts of the CONCERTO series: 52,50 € / concessions for students and pensioners 35 €.