Neeme Järvi. Foto: Simon van Boxtel

Neeme Järvi ((© Simon van Boxtel).

December 21, 2012 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

3rd concert of the PARIS SYMPHONIES series
3rd concert of the CLASSICS series

Franz Joseph Haydn. Symphony No 84 in E flat major
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Flute Concerto in D major, K 314
Antonín Dvořák. Symphony No 9 in e minor, Op 95 (From the New World

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

Sharon Bezaly. Foto Mark Harrison

Sharon Bezaly. Foto Mark Harrison

Sharon Bezaly, described as “God’s gift to the flute” (The Times) and “the Paganini of the flute” (Monde de la Musique), was selected as “Instrumentalist of the Year” in 2002 (Klassik Echo) and “Young Artist of the Year” in 2003 (Cannes Classical Awards). The online magazine Classics Today has hailed her as “a flautist without peer in the world today”. The Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung has compared her to musical legends of the 20th century – violinist David Oistrakh and pianist Vladimir Horowitz. 

Having started learning the flute at the age of 11, Bezaly gave her debut concert as a soloist with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Zubin Mehta only three years later. After graduating from the Paris Conservatoire, she went on to play for a time as principal flautist in Salzburg’s Camerata Academica, and for the past fifteen years has dedicated herself to the career of a full-time international soloist. Bezaly has performed with almost every leading orchestra in the world and as soloist in the most prestigious concert halls worldwide. Her numerous recordings for the BIS have won her the highest accolades and reviews from reputable music magazines. 

To date Sharon Bezaly has 17 flute concertos dedicated to her by composers as diverse as Sofia Gubaidulina and Kalevi Aho. She was the first wind player to be chosen as artist in residence (2007/08 season) for the ResidentieOrkest, The Hague, under principal conductor Neeme Järvi. 

Sharon Bezaly plays on a Muramatsu 24-carat gold flute. 

Tickets: 20 € / concessions for students and pensioners 15 €.
Concert is produced by ERSO. 

In its 86th season, ERSO brings to its listeners six concert series: PARIS SYMPHONIES, FESTIVO, CLASSICS, MASTERCLASS, 1001 NIGHTS and MAESTRO.
The concert is part of two concert series.

CLASSICS series: