April 11, 2013 at 7 pm — Vanemuine Concert Hall
April 12, 2013 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

6th concert of the PARIS SYMPHONIES series
5th concert of the CLASSICS series

Arvo Pärt. Silhouette (in programme only in Tallinn)
Franz Joseph Haydn.
Symphony No 87 in A major
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Concerto for Flute and Harp in C major, K 299
Franz Schubert. Symphony No 9 (Great), D 944

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

The joint finale of the Paris Symphonies and Classics concert series, entitled The Great Symphony, will feature works by three great masters of musical history. The Symphony No 87 by Franz Joseph Haydn, known as the “Father of the Symphony”, is the last of the six Paris Symphonies commissioned by a Parisian Masonic organisation and composed between 1785–86. In Franz Schubert’s final Symphony in C Major, completed the year he died, its heroic character meets genuinely Schubertian lyricism and Austrian folk melodies.

Mozart’s Double Concerto for Flute, Harp and Orchestra was composed in Paris and is the composer’s only work that includes the harp. Soloists are ERSO’s principal flautist, renowned soloist and chamber musician and teacher at the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre, Mihkel Peäske and deputy principal harpist of the Symphony Orchestra in Bern, Cornelia Lootsmann.

Mihkel Peäske. Photo Peeter Laurits

Mihkel Peäske. Photo Peeter Laurits

Cornelia Lootsmann

Cornelia Lootsmann

Tickets in Tartu: 12 € / concessions for students and pensioners 9 €.
Tickets in Tallinn: 20 € / concessions for students and pensioners 15 €.
Concert in Tartu is produced by Eesti Kontsert and ERSO.
Concert in Tallinn is produced by ERSO.

In its 86th season, ERSO brings to its listeners six concert series: PARIS SYMPHONIES, FESTIVO, CLASSICS, MASTERCLASS, 1001 NIGHTS and MAESTRO.
The concert is part of two concert series.



CLASSICS series:



Tickets for the PARIS SYMPHONIES and CLASSICS series are sold out. Single tickets are still available.