March 22, 2013 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

4th concert of the MASTERCLASS series

Leonard Bernstein. Three Dances from the ballet Fancy Free
Christopher Rouse. Trombone Concerto
Johannes Brahms/Arnold Schönberg. Piano Quartet in G minor, Op 25 (arranged for orchestra)

ANDRES KONTUS (trombone)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra


Andes Kontus. Photo Mait Jüriado

Andes Kontus. Photo Mait Jüriado

The concert is dedicated to Leonard Bernstein, one of the most influential promoters of classical music from the second half of the 20th century. He left his greatest mark as a composer with his famous Broadway musical West Side Story; however, this time we will hear the truly characteristic jazz dances from his first work for stage, the ballet Fancy Free. Christopher Rose composed his Trombone Concerto for Joseph Alessi, principal trombone for the New York Philharmonic, on the orchestra’s 150th anniversary; this turned into a dedication to the former principal conductor Leonard Bernstein.

The soloist is ERSO’s principal trombone Andres Kontus, who graduated from the Jutland Royal Academy of Music in Denmark under Niels-Ole Bo Johansen and Rolf Sandmark and has won prizes at numerous competitions, notably the International Jurjāns Andrejs Competition (Riga, 2006), the Estonian National Competition for Wind Instruments and Percussion (Tallinn, 2006) and the Estonian Competition for Wind Instruments (Tartu, 2008).

Daniel Raiskin, who has conducted ERSO on several occasions, is principal conductor of the Staatsorchester Rheinische Philharmonie in Koblenz, Germany and the Łódź Philharmonic in Poland.

Tickets: 20 € / concessions for students and pensioners 15 €.
Concert is produced by ERSO.

In its 86th season, ERSO brings to its listeners six concert series: PARIS SYMPHONIES, FESTIVO, CLASSICS, MASTERCLASS, 1001 NIGHTS and MAESTRO.
The concert is part of the MASTERCLASS series:



If you buy a ticket for all the concerts mentioned, you will win 40% of the price of single tickets.
Tickets for the MASTERCLASS series are sold out, only single tickets are available.
With a series ticket the price of one concert is 12 € / concessions for students and pensioners 9 €.
Four concerts of the MASTERCLASS series: 48 € / concessions for students and pensioners 36 €.