Irina Zahharenkova & Milan Turković

Milan Turković

December 10, 2010 at 7 pm — Tallinn, Estonia Concert Hall

“Eine kleine Nachtmusik” for strings, K. 525
Piano Concerto No 17, K. 453
Symphony in C major, Hob. I:90

Irina Zahharenkova (piano)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
Conductor MILAN TURKOVIĆ (Austria)

Irina Zahharenkova is one of the most remarkable and versatile keyboard players of her generation in Estonia. She has won numerous prestigious competitions both as a pianist and a harpsichord player. As a pianist, she has achieved first places at such international competitions as Johann Sebastian Bach Competition in Leipzing (2006), Alessandro Casagrande Competition in Italy (2006), George Enescu Competition in Rumania (2005), Prémio Jaén Competition in Spain (2004), etc. She regularly gives solo and chamber recitals and performs as a soloist with orchestras.

Both Zahharenkova’s earlier appearances with ERSO received a warm reception. “She is characterized by absolute power of empathy, enchanting lyricism, internal virility and deep understanding of the piece performed.” (Ia Remmel, Sirp, 10 May 2002).

Milan Turković, of Austrian and Croatian descent, has made a successful career as a bassoon soloist; he has been the principal bassoonist in orchestras like the Bamberger Symphoniker and the Wiener Symphoniker; he is also one of the founding members of the Ensemble Wien-Berlin wind quintet. For the last fifteen years, he has been increasingly active as a conductor, appearing with such orchestras as the Wiener Symphoniker, the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Camerata Salzburg, the Symphony Orchestra of Rome, the Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra, etc. In August 2009 the Japanese music magazine Ongaku-no tomo listed Turković among the most interesting conductors next to such names as Riccardo Muti, Nikolaus Harnoncourt and Herbert Blomstedt.

Concert is produced by ERSO
Tickets: 180 EEK (11.50 €), 120 EEK (7.67 €) / 70 EEK (4.47 €)