West Side Story

May 6, 2011 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

R. Strauss – “Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche”, Op. 28
R. Strauss – Oboe Concerto in D major
Bernstein – Symphonic Dances from “West Side Story”

Kalev Kuljus (oboe)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Mikk Murdvee

For years, the home orchestra of Kalev Kuljus, the Prague Spring Competition (2001) winner whom Lorin Maazel has called a “born oboeist”, has been the NDR-Sinfonieorchester in Hamburg where he is leader of the oboe section. As a guest, he often performs with such prominent orchestras as Berliner Philharmoniker, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Deutsches Sinfonieorchester Berlin and City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. Along with his work in the orchestra, he is highly appreciated as a chamber musician and soloist.

The conductor is Mikk Murdvee who made his successful debut with ERSO in the last season. His conducting style was praised for knowledgeable and skilful immersion into music, and devoted performance. His performance of Rachmaninov’s 2nd Symphony a year ago fully deserved a ‘Bravo!’ from the critic. (Leelo Kõlar, Sirp, 12 March 2010). Mikk Murdvee is the principal conductor of the Helsinki University Symphony Orchestra and also an active violinist.

Concert is produced by ERSO
Tickets: 11.50 € (180 EEK), 7.67 € (120 EEK) / 4.47 € (70 EEK)