January 9, 2020 at 1 pm — Estonia Concert Hall (symphonic lunch*)
January 10, 2020 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

2nd concert of the PIANO CONCERTO series

Ferenc Liszt
Piano Concerto No. 1   15′
Symphonic Poem The Preludes (Les Préludes)   19′

Hector Berlioz
Fantastic Symphony (Symphonie fantastique)   55′

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
Conductor JUN MÄRKL

An evening with the music of Ferenc Liszt and Hector Berlioz is a wonderful journey to romanticism. Liszt and Berlioz were friends for decades and they had deep respect for each other’s work – Liszt has made transcriptions for the piano of several works of Berlioz, including the Symphonie fantastique. Berlioz, in turn, conducted the performance of Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 1 while the author himself soloed. The works of these two musical masterminds are often played together at concert stages as well as on recordings.

Kristi Kapten (© Mait Jüriado).

Liszt’s orchestral work Les préludes put a start to the most important genre of romanticism – the symphonic poem – and his Piano Concerto No. 1 is also essentially an extensive poem for the piano and the orchestra. The Piano Concerto will be performed by Kristi Kapten, winner of the 2011 International Piano Competition in Tallinn, who is performing on stages all over the world and also plays in a trio named after her. She has said that Liszt is a great source of inspiration both as a composer and as a person for her. ‘Liszt’s generosity and philosophical approaches are immediately apparent in his music. His way of playing the piano is brightly virtuoso and at the same time very organic.’ Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 1 – ‘a very optimistic and uplifting piece’, as the soloist describes it – is one of the most popular works on all stages all around the world. ‘This work is complete and effective, containing in its compactness contrasting moods, strong thematic development, and interesting instrumentation.’

The conductor will be Jun Märkl, who won the hearts of the audience and the orchestra last season, and who has worked with reputable German and French opera houses and orchestras. For the main piece of the concert, he chose Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique. This piece, which was very innovative for its time, is the first programmatic symphony – a heartbroken opium-induced artist is obsessed with his loved one.

BUY TICKET: €25/€18

* SYMPHONIC LUNCH. Thu., January 9, 2020 at 1 p.m., Estonia Concert Hall
Liszt. Piano Concerto No. 1
Berlioz. Symphonie fantastique (mvts 2, 4 ja 5)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
Conductor JUN MÄRKL


PIANO CONCERTO concert series

I: CHOPIN & OHLSSON, December 6, 2019

II: LISZT & BERLIOZ,  January 10, 2020

III: BOTSTEIN & DVOŘÁK, February 28, 2020

IV: JÄRVI & SUMERA, May 8, 2020