January 27, 2012 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

1st concert of the Brahms concert series
3rd concert of the SAGA series

Dvořák. Overtures In Nature’s Realm, Carnival, Othello
Brahms. Symphony No 1 in C Minor, Op 68

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

This concert is like the beginning of a small Brahms festival within ERSO’s anniversary season. In the spring half of the season, we can listen to all of Johannes Brahms’ four symphonies conducted by Neeme Järvi (2nd Symphony on 3 February, 3rd Symphony on 26 April, 4th Symphony at the final concert of the season on 4 May).

The trilogy of overtures Nature, Life, Love by Antonín Dvořák, one of the best-known representatives of the Czech national school of composition, is most probably performed in Estonia for the first time. As typical of Dvořák, the music is figurative and deeply Slavonic.

Single ticket: 15 € / 10 €.