Neeme Järvi. Foto: Simon van Boxtel

Neeme Järvi ((© Simon van Boxtel).

September 2, 2011 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

1st concert of the JUBILATE series

V. Kapp. North Coast for Male Choir and Orchestra
Schumann. Symphony No 3 in E flat Major, Op 97 Rheinish
R. Strauss. Symphonic Poem Don Quixote, Op 35

Alexander Zemtsov (viola)
Jan-Erik Gustafsson (cello)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
Estonian National Male Choir

The compositions performed at the opening concert of ERSO’s anniversary season under the conduction of its artistic director Neeme Järvi are: Villem Kapp’s choral poem North Coast, Robert Schumann’s 3rd Symphony inspired by his journey to Rhineland, and Richard Strauss’ symphonic poem Don Quixote, the genre of which is poetically defined as “fantastic variations on a theme of knightly character”.

The internationally renowned soloists in Don Quixote are Alexander Zemtsov and Jan-Erik Gustafsson. Zemtsov has won such competitions as Классическое наследие (Classical Legacy, Moscow, 1995), Elise Meyer Competition (Hamburg, 1997) and the 8th Brahms Competition (Poertschach, 2001). Since 2002 he has been the principal viola with the London Philharmonic Orchestra.  Gustafsson has won the 1986 EBU Young Musician of the Year Competition, 1994 Young Concert Artists International Auditions and Second Prize in the 1993 Leonard Rose International Cello Competition. In parallel with being active as a soloist, he is the artistic director of Loviisa Sibelius Festival in Finland.

Concert is produced by ERSO.
Single ticket: 20 € / 15 €.

In its 85th anniversary season, ERSO brings to its listeners four exciting series of superb concerts:  JUBILATE, MASTERCLASS, SAGA and CONCERTO.
The concert is part of the JUBILATE series that is dedicated to ERSO’s 85th anniversary. Three concerts of the JUBILATE series:
I: 02.09.2011 OPENING CONCERT OF THE SEASON. Don Quixote
II:  16.12.2011 ERSO 85. War Symphonies
III: 04.05.2012 FINAL CONCERT OF THE SEASON. Imperator

If you buy a ticket for all the concerts mentioned, you will win 30% of the price of single tickets.
Series tickets are sold until the first concert of each series. Tickets for the JUBILATE series are sold until 2 September 2011.
With a series ticket the price of one concert is 14 € / concessions for students and pensioners 10,50 €.
Three concerts of the JUBILATE series: 42 € / concessions for students and pensioners 31,50 €.