Nikolai Alexeev (© Sergei Zjuganov).

December 8, 2017 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

1st concert in the CITY LIGHTS series

Igor Stravinsky

Symphony of Psalms
Requiem canticles
Ballet Rite of Spring (Le sacre du printemps)

Marianne Pärna alto
Rainer Vilu 
Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

Nikolai Alexeev, the former principal conductor of ENSO, has repeatedly enriched ENSO seasons with wonderful performances of Russian music. This time he will introduce to the audience a true citizen of the world, Igor Stravinsky, who composed most of his works in France and the United States.

The three ballets that first brought Stravinsky international recognition, Firebird, Petrushka and The Rite of Spring, were written during the national (or “Russian”) period in his youth and were commissioned by Sergei Diaghilev’s famous ballet company. The Neoclassical Symphony of Psalms was dedicated to the 50th anniversary of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. Requiem canticles, written five years before the composer’s death, includes the characteristics of his earlier works along side the serial techniques of his later works.

Tickets: 22 € / 16 €

Concert is produced by ENSO

Presented by Radisson Blu

This season you can enjoy the bright shine of big city lights with ENSO at four different concerts. The concert “Tallinn → Ann Arbor” will fly Estonia’s premier orchestra on tour in the United States for the third time, and “Tallinn → Shanghai” to China and Hong Kong. The concerts are conducted by Arvo Volmer, the former principal conductor of ENSO and the current principal conductor of the Haydn Orchestra of Bolzano and Trento, and Leif Segerstam, one of the most renowned Finnish conductors who regularly works as a guest conductor with symphony orchestras all over the world and conducts performances in the New York Metropolitan Opera, London Royal Opera House, La Scala in Milan and others. In recent years Segerstam has been working as the principal conductor of the Turku Philharmonic Orchestra.

Paris and Los Angeles, metropolises of Europe and the United States, are brought to audiences through the compositions by Igor Stravinsky. It was in these two cities that the cosmopolitan composer lived for the longest time.

One of the most original younger generation pianists, Víkingur Ólafsson, comes to Tallinn from Reykjavik, Iceland, the northernmost capital of the world, bringing Estonian and Icelandic musicians and music together on stage.

Friday 8 December 2017 – PARIS AND LOS ANGELES, conductor NIKOLAI ALEXEEV
Friday 19 January 2017 – TALLINN → ANN ARBOR, conductor ARVO VOLMER
Friday 9 March 2018 – TALLINN → SHANGHAI, conductor LEIF SEGERSTAM
Sunday 20 May 2018 – FROM ICE TO EST, Festival “Practical Spirituality”, ENSO chamber ensembles and pianist Víkingur Ólafsson

Series tickets for the “City Lights” concert series: 55€ / 40€ (available until 6.12.2017)