April 13, 2012 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

4th concert of the CONCERTO series

Vasks. Viatore (Hommage à Arvo Pärt) for String Orchestra
Pärt. Concerto Piccolo on a theme B-A-C-H for Trumpet and Orchestra
Pärt. Wenn Bach Bienen Gezüchtet Hätte
Bach/Stokowski. Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor
Sibelius. Symphony No 1 in E Minor, Op 39

Indrek Vau (trumpet)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

Daniel Raiskin, chief conductor of Staatsorchester Rheinische Philharmonie, who is known to the Estonian audience as both a conductor and viola player, conducts a very exciting programme, the first half of which connects the creation of three great composers – the master of the Baroque era Johann Sebastian Bach and world-famour present-day composers Arvo Pärt and Pēteris Vasks. Vasks has dedicated his composition Viatore, created ten years ago, to Arvo Pärt; the latter however, recurrently used references to Bach’s music in his young days. The soloist in Pärt’s Small Concerto on the Theme of B-A-C-H is Indrek Vau, the principal trumpetist of ERSO. The second half of the concert features the romantic 1st Symphony of young Sibelius.

Concert is produced by ERSO.
Single ticket: 15 € / 10 €.

In its 85th anniversary season, ERSO brings to its listeners four exciting series of superb concerts:  JUBILATE, MASTERCLASS, SAGA and CONCERTO.
The concert is part of the CONCERTO series that enables listeners to enjoy brilliant soloists and attractive instrumental concertos. Five concerts of the CONCERTO series:
I: 14.10.2011  FROM THE NEW WORLD
II: 20.01.2012  DEDICATION
IV: 13.04.2012  PASSACAGLIA
V: 26.04.2012  PIANISSIMO

If you buy a ticket for all the concerts mentioned, you will win 30% of the price of single tickets.
Series tickets are sold until the first concert of each series. Tickets for the CONCERTO series are sold until 14 October 2011.
With a series ticket the price of one concert is 10,50 € / concessions for students and pensioners 7 €.
Five concerts of the CONCERTO series: 52,50 € / concessions for students and pensioners 35 €.