April 26, 2012 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

3rd concert of the Brahms concert series
5th concert of the CONCERTO series

Scharwenka. Piano Concerto No 4 in F Minor, Op 82
Brahms. Symphony No 3 in F Major, Op 90

Alexander Markovich (piano)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

Franz Xaver Scharwenka (1850–1924), who has Polish and German roots, is a perfect example of a performer and a composer who has become increasingly rare in the last century. He repeatedly performed his 4th Piano Concerto in both Europe and America as a soloist or a conductor. If after the composer’s death his works passed into oblivion, but since the last decade of the past century they have found their way to the world’s concert stages again. The Gramophone journal chose his Piano Concerto No 4 performed by Stephen Hough and Birmingham Symphony Orchestra under the conduction of Lawrence Foster the best record of 1996.

In Tallinn the soloist in Scharwenka’s Piano Concerto No 4 is Alexander Markovich, an outstanding pianist who has performed with the world’s top orchestras and closely cooperated with Neeme Järvi for a long time.  For his energy and temperament, Berliner Morgenpost has even called Markovich a Formula 1 pilot.

The second half of the concert contains Johannes Brahms’ 3rd Symphony.

Concert is produced by ERSO.
Single ticket: 15 € / 10 €.