September 23, 2011 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall
September 24, 2011 at 7 pm — St. John's Church of Tartu

1st concert of the SAGA series

Georg Friedrich Handel. Oratorio Saul

Katherine Manley (soprano)
Joanne Lunn (soprano)
Stephen Wallace (counter-tenor)
Andrew Tortise (tenor)
David Wilson-Johnson (bass)
Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

With its plot, storyline, clearly expressed scenes of action and characters with a fixed background and fate, Händel’s Saul might even be considered an opera. The oratory is based on texts from the Book of Samuel in the Old Testament with two kings of Israel – Saul and David – as its principal characters, and its main themes are struggle for power and envy.

On the rostrum, there will be the renowned Dutch conductor Daniel Reuss, who is working as the artistic director and principal conductor of the Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir since the season 2008/09. He has conducted several recognized choirs and orchestras in Europe and his interpretations of Händel have attracted considerable attention in recent years.

Concert is produced by ERSO and Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir.
Single tickets in Tallinn: 15 € / 10 €.
Single tickets in Tartu: 10 € / 6 €.

In its 85th anniversary season, ERSO brings to its listeners four exciting series of superb concerts:  JUBILATE, MASTERCLASS, SAGA and CONCERTO.
The concert is part of the SAGA series that enables listeners to enjoy works with an exciting background and subject matter in a magnificent performance. Six concerts of the SAGA series:
I: 23. ja 24.09.2011  SAUL
II: 04.11.2011  PLANETS
III: 27.01.2012 NATURE, LIFE, LOVE
IV: 10.02.2012 IN SPE
V: 16.03.2012 FIREBIRD

If you buy a ticket for all the concerts mentioned, you will win 30% of the price of single tickets.
Series tickets are sold until the first concert of each series. Tickets for the SAGA series are sold until 23 September 2011.
With a series ticket the price of one concert is 10,50 € / concessions for students and pensioners 7 €.
Six concerts of the SAGA series: 63 € / concessions for students and pensioners 42 €.