November 30, 2012 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

1st concert of the 1001 NIGHTS  series

Sergei Rachmaninov. Piano Concerto No 3 in D minor, Op 30
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. Symphonic suite Schéhérazade

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

The title of the ERSO concert series One Thousand and One Nights originates from the famous fairy tale collection bearing the same name, which for Europeans has become a sort of symbol for Arabic literature. The beautiful Scheherazade tells her husband, the cruel, misogynist Sultan Shahryar, a magical fairy tale every night, each time leaving it unfinished at the most intriguing place, so that the Sultan impatiently awaits the conclusion and keeps postponing his decision to have his wife executed. One Thousand and One Nights is translated into Estonian by Andres and Ly Ehin.

The music of the wonderful symphonic suite by Rimsky-Korsakov depicts Scheherazade, Shahryar, the brave sailor Sinbad, as well as several other fairy tale characters.

Alexander Markovich

Alexander Markovich

The solo in Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No 3 is played by Alexander Markovich, who has also performed the Scharwenka Piano Concerto as well as Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No 1 in Tallinn this year.

Tickets: 20 € / concessions for students and pensioners 15 €.
Concert is produced by ERSO.

In its 86th season, ERSO brings to its listeners six concert series: PARIS SYMPHONIES, FESTIVO, CLASSICS, MASTERCLASS, 1001 NIGHTS and MAESTRO.
The concert is part of the 1001 NIGHTS series:

If you buy a ticket for all the concerts mentioned, you will win 40% of the price of single tickets.
Tickets for the 1001 NIGHTS series are sold until 30 November 2012.
With a series ticket the price of one concert is 12 € / concessions for students and pensioners 9 €.
Four concerts of the 1001 NIGHTS series: 48 € / concessions for students and pensioners 36 €.Tickets 20 € / 15 €.