Leif Segerstam. © Anna Flegontova.

October 15, 2021 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

2nd concert of the MAESTRO series

Jean Sibelius
Suite from “Pelléas et Mélisande” by Maeterlinck    ~26’

Leif Segerstam
Symphony No. 344 “Saluting a royal soul…”, bordercrossingly…    ~14’

Pyotr Tchaikovsky
“Manfred Symphony”    ~55’

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

Tickets 26 € / 19 €:  PILETILEVI     PILETIMAAILM

The Finnish conductor Leif Segerstam will be combining great works of Sibelius and Tchaikovsky with his own newest symphony which is dedicated to the memory of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.

Segerstam’s career as a conductor began in 1965 at the Finnish National Opera, continuing at the Royal Swedish Opera, the Deutsche Oper Berlin, the Austrian, Finnish, and Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestras, the Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfaltz, the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, and the Turku Philharmonic Orchestra. He still works with many of these orchestras as Conductor Laureate and Chief Conductor Emeritus. As a guest conductor, he conducts symphony orchestras and opera performances all over the world.

ERSO has been fortunate to perform with Leif Segerstam repeatedly for more than 30 years. In 2018, Segerstam went on a foreign tour with ERSO and the Estonian National Male Choir, conducting Kullervo by Sibelius in China and Hong Kong.

Concert is produced by ERSO.

Supported by