February 7, 2019 at 1 pm — Estonia Concert Hall (symphonic lunch*)
February 8, 2019 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

3rd concert of the PIANO CONCERTO series

Olga Viktorova
Quinglong – Azure Dragon

Pyotr Tchaikovsky
Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor
Orchestral Suite No. 3 in G major

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

The concert, which is dedicated to the work of Pyotr Tchaikovsky, will include one of the most beloved piano concertos; this time, it will be performed by Dmitry Masleev, who won 1st prize at the International Tchaikovsky Competition in 2015. The unanimous approval by the audience, jury, and media at one of the world’s most reputable competitions meant that the pianist, who is now 30 years old, quickly took over the stages of the world’s most renowned concert halls and played with the best orchestras. ‘The display of virtuosity was offset by magical tenderness. The pianist offered a mix of virtuosity, understated brilliance, gripping imagination, and beautifully blended sound.’ (Mittelbayerische Zeitung).

Interpretational depth, clever dramaturgy, and an infallible creative drive are what characterise Dmitry Liss as a conductor. For nearly a quarter of a century, Liss has been the principal conductor at the Ural Philharmonic Orchestra, operating in Yekaterinburg; they have been on tours to Europe, Asia, and America and performed at prestigious festivals in Bonn, Montpellier, La Roque-d’Anthéron, and elsewhere.

The first piece of the concert will be Quinglong – Azure Dragon, written in 2013 for a large symphony orchestra by Olga Viktorova, who was born in Ukraine.

Tickets: €23 / €16     BUY TICKET

* Symphonic lunch
Olga Viktorova. “Quinglong – Azure Dragon”
Pyotr Tchaikovsky. Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor (I movement)
Pyotr Tchaikovsky. Orchestral Suite No. 3 in G major (IV movement)

Tickets: €8 / €6     BUY TICKET

Concerts are produced by ENSO