May 3, 2019 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

4th concert of the MUSIC OF THE FUTURE series

Ülo Krigul (b. 1978, Estonia)
“worlds… break the soundness” (2019, premiere)

Eino Tamberg (1930–2010, Estonia)
“Opening Fanfares” for symphony orchestra (1975/2001)

Lotta Wennäkoski (b. 1970, Finland)
“Susurrus” for guitar and orchestra (2016)

Mayke Nas (b. 1972, the Netherlands)
“Down the Rabbit-Hole” (2012)

Alex Nante (b. 1992, Argentina)
“La Pérégrination vers l’ouest” (2016)

Ho Chi So (b. 1994, Hongkong)
“Radio Conversation” for orchestra and electronics (2018, Estonian premiere)

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

Conductor OLARI ELTS

For the first time ever, the ISCM World New Music Days will be hosted by Estonia. The international festival celebrating new music, which was first held in 1923, will also celebrate the 40th anniversary of Estonian music. So far, Finland and Lithuania are the nearest countries to Estonia who have hosted the ISCM World New Music Days – in 1978, they were organised in Helsinki, and in 2008, in Vilnius. Last years festival was held in Beijing, Vancouver and Tongyeong. In 2020 the festival will take place in New Zealand, in 2021 in Shaghai.

The concert programme consists of the winning pieces of the World New Music Days competition. The international jury will announce the results of the competition in November 2018. Ülo Krigul’s new piece “worlds… break the soundness” will represent Estonia.

The festival taking place in 2019 will focus on forests and music; the concerts will be held on 2–10 May in Tallinn and Tartu. More than 200 specialists from all over the world will visit Estonia and about a hundred works by 80 composers will be performed.

Tickets: €23 / €16     BUY TICKET
The concert is produced by ENSO